Australia Awards Scholarships

The Australian Awards, formerly known as the Australian Development Scholarships (ADSs), offer opportunities for people from developing countries, particularly countries located in the Indo-Pacific region, to conduct full-time university or postgraduate studies at participating Australian universities and technical and higher education institutions (TAFE).

Host institutions:

Any of Australia’s participating institutions

Level/field(s) of study:

University or graduate programs related to the priority development areas of your country listed in the profiles of the participating countries.

The Australia Awards are not available for training in areas related to flying aircraft, nuclear technology or military training.

Number of scholarships:

A specified uns.

Target group:

Citizens of one of the participating countries in Asia, Pacific, Africa and the Middle East. See the full list of participating countries.

Value/inclusions/duration of the scholarship:

The benefits of grants generally include: full tuition fees, return air travel, scholarship, living expenses contribution (CLE), student health coverage abroad (OSHC), introductory academic program (IAP), pre-course English fees (PCE), etc. See the full list of benefits on the official website.

Scholarships are offered for the minimum period required of the individual to complete the academic program specified by the Australian higher education institution, including any preparatory training.


In order to qualify for a scholarship, applicants must:

  • be at least 18 years old on 1 February of the year of the beginning of the scholarship;
  • be a citizen of a participating country (as indicated on the Australian Awards website) and reside and apply for the scholarship for your country of citizenship;
  • not being an Australian citizen, having permanent residence in Australia or applying for a visa to live in Australia permanently;
  • not be married, engaged or de facto of a person who owns, or is entitled to have, Australian or New Zealand citizenship or permanent residency, at any time during the application, selection or mobilization phases (note: residents of the Cook, Niue and Tokelau Islands with New Zealand citizenship are eligible, but must apply for a student visa [subclass 500]);
  • not be a military personnel in current service;
  • they have not previously received a long-term Australia Award unless they have resided outside Australia for twice the total time they were in Australia (for example, a previous winner who received an Australian scholarship in Australia for four years will not be entitled to apply for another Australian scholarship until he has resided outside Australia for eight years);
  • have met any specific criteria established by the Programme Area or the government of the applicant’s country of citizenship (for example, having worked for a number of years in an appropriate area);
  • be able to meet the admission requirements of the institution where the prize is to be made (this may mean that the Program Areas will have to withdraw a prize offer if the recipient is unable to meet the institution’s admission requirements. This may not be known until the areas of the program require placement in selected institutions);
  • to be able to meet all interior department requirements to have a student visa. This could mean that the program area will have to withdraw a reward offer if the recipient is unable to meet the visa requirements;
  • Do not apply for a scholarship for a course of study at an academic level lower than that already achieved (for example, apply for a master’s scholarship when they already have a PhD); And
  • Applicants must inform the Program Area of any connection or relationship with staff employed in the Program Areas (including locally hired staff in the position) or with management contractors so that the application can be handled appropriately and transparently.
  • Read the full eligibility criteria in the Australian Awards Policy Manual (PDF)

Instructions for the application:

Applications for study from 2022 or after 2022 will be open on February 1, 2021.

Check your country’s opening and closing dates and select your country of citizenship/residency from the list of participating countries for specific eligibility information, priority areas, and how to apply. The deadline is April 30, 2021.